Why is the Walking Dead so popular

Posted: November 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

Horror like Sci Fi has stepped from the sidelines and into the mainstream, illustrated by the recent success of the twilight saga, the walking dead series and the release of world war z next year. With technology making our world smaller and smaller and more accessible it has made us all more aware of how fragile our planet and society are. Global warming and the realization that resources are running low plays at the back of everyone’s minds. Back when I was growing up in the seventies and eighties we were blissfully unaware of what was going on around us and horror films with the exception of a couple were mainly something you saw on TV until video was invented. Stories of Apocalypse were futuristic tales of things that didn’t seem possible. But today the Apocalypse story has disturbing similarities to modern life, reminding us all that it could all be gone in the blink of an eye. As a child me and my siblings and cousins would watch the old Romero classics, waiting for the gory parts and not really paying much attention to the story. twenty odd years later I find myself engrossed in a comic of the same genre, The Walking Dead.Image

For me the attraction is seeing how people cope with the loss of society, kind of like an Apocalyptic soap opera which makes it very important to have good believable characters. This is for me where The Walking Dead hits the mark, I read a lot of zombie comics and books, recently I read a novel that was very well written and had great action and suspense but the characters were all special forces, I couldn’t really relate to them. I couldn’t imagine knowing them and sympathizing with them and I wasn’t that upset when one of them died. But when I read The Walking Dead 100 I was devastated when Glenn was killed, it felt like someone I had known for years had died and that for me is the difference. So if I can get across the characters in my stories half as well I will be a happy man.

Let me know your thoughts on why you think The Walking Dead is so popular

Comments
  1. John smith says:

    Great blog

Leave a Reply

