story progress and poems

Posted: January 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

Well i’m three months into writing my first book. I must admit it took a while to get started, just thinking about the whole project was daunting, I’d use any excuse to get out of starting. Eventually I got going, it was slow at first, not knowing the characters very well and still unsure of where the story was going. Now i’m thirteen chapters in, just over half way i’m beginning to pick up the pace. I finished writing two chapters last week and on schedule for another two this week. now the characters are growing, it gets easier to get the words down. I don’t have to think as much about how they would react or what they would say. when i’m finished the first draft I will post up a chapter to give you a taste. Until then you can check out my short stories and I’ve also added two poems I wrote a few years ago when I was just starting to get more serious with my writing.

Despair was written when I was in a bit of a dark place. It just started out as practice exercise, as i was on a writing course at the time.  its a bit depressing, it just kind of happened that the exercise was to find words to describe an emotion and at the time I was stressed out at work.

Despair

The well is dry there are no tears

Has always been for years and years

We’re all alone my wounded child

There’s nothing left but you inside

Adrift together in this plight

While everyone else can see the light

What’s the point, why are we here

Did god create to taunt and sneer?

To tarnish all I hold so dear

To bury it in a grave of fear

We need to grow we need to heal

We need to think we need to feel

I see the love we need to share

But feel nothing but despair

Please hold me now my child within

To save our soul from eternal sin.

The tomb of the unknown soldier was written for a poetry competition (which I didn’t win) the theme was living on the streets. so being an ex serviceman myself i decided to write about the thousands of ex servicemen living on the streets. People who had served their queen and country. Over ten per cent of the homeless living in London are ex servicemen, shameless really. anyway enjoy and let me know what you think.

Tomb of the unknown soldier.

Where is England’s pleasant land?

The one he swore to serve,

Just memories of war torn streets

And cold damp pavements where he sleeps.

 

The scarlet storm of conflict fades,

Decayed by needle and scotch.

A prisoner of war inside

He cannot run, nowhere to hide.

 

Some passersby give change for valour

Some swear and spit and curse.

The fear inside him lingers on,

His shell remains, but he has gone.

 

Another hero falls alone,

There is no battle cry.

No bugle plays beside his grave,

Remember him, the truly brave.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

